Pickens County Residential Burning Guidelines
All burning operations shall comply with the “Rules for Air Quality Control” chapter 391-3-1 as written and amended by the Environmental Protection Division and these standards. Homeowners or residents of single-family residential property are authorized to have open fires, provided all the following requirements are met:
- An “open burning” permit must be obtained from Georgia forestry for any burning. As of July 1, 2021, the Georgia outdoor burning requirements have changed. No permit is required for hand-piled natural vegetation/yard debris meaning leaf & limbs only.
- The Summer Open Burn Ban runs from May 1 – September 30
- Pickens County Ga: Don’t burn anything from May 1 – September 30
- Failure to adhere to the burn ban during May 1 – September 30 may result in fines.
- The fire must be on the property occupied by the person receiving the permit and the natural vegetation must be from that property and may not be hauled in from another property.
- Only natural vegetation can be destroyed by burning. “Natural vegetation” includes sticks, tree parts six inches or less in diameter, grass, pine straw, hedge trimmings, leaves, etc. Burning of poison oak, poison ivy, and any other vegetation which produces severe respiratory damage is not allowed. Burning of cardboard, treated wood, materials containing petroleum products, i.e., tires, plastics, wire insulation, roofing shingles, etc. or other manmade materials is not allowed.
- No vegetation pile shall be larger than 6 (six) feet in diameter by two feet in height.
- There shall be a minimum of 10 (ten) feet between vegetation piles.
- No burning is allowed within 50 feet of a structure.
- No burning is allowed within 25 feet of a wooded area or other lightweight class fuel.
- No fire shall be within 25 feet of an adjacent property.
- All open fires shall be constantly attended by a competent person 16 years of age or older to monitor and control such burning. A rake, shovel, or similar hand tool, and a charged water hose that will reach to the most remote point of the burn material is to be immediately available.
- No more than two burning piles are allowed at any one time.
- Failure to comply with these rules which results in an uncontrolled fire or a valid complaint by a nearby property owner or resident that requires the response of the county fire service will result in the fire being extinguished immediately.
- Fires will be authorized between the hours of 9:00am and one hour before sunset. All fire must be out or extinguished before sunset.
Georgia Forestry ~ 770-387-4900
~ YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR FIRE, AND ITS SMOKE ~
Summer Burn Ban in effect May 1 – September 30
No burning after dark, fires must be extinguished one hour before dusk
NOTE: The above excerpts were “quoted” directly from the following websites:
Please go to these websites for any further information or alerts.
Burning is banned under certain weather conditions, so please be vigilant!
We want to protect our Woodlands, Wildlife, Homes, Our Safety, and The Outback!